Hitting your tennis opponent with the ball

Is it OK to hit your opponent with the tennis ball?

The following was taken from Yahoo Answers:

If the ball hits your opponent it is totally fine. there are no penalties against you.

The only time it is appropriate to purposely hit at your opponent, is if you are playing “Doubles”. Doubles is a whole different ball game. You are face to face at times and sometimes the best shot it to hit straight at them to jamb them. In singles itโ€™s an unwritten law that you donโ€™t purposely try do hit your opponent.
In fact, if you watch any tennis match and one player accidentally hits another, the other player raises their racket in a kind of apology to the other player for hitting them, or almost hitting them.

Irvin answered
just hit the feet if you really can’t help it, and if you don’t like to be hit, stay at the baseline for most likely you can prepare when the ball is coming, but if you take the risk, then, come to the net where your probability of being hit is higher. If you hit your opponent, just gesture that you are sorry even if you really intended it, LOL. however, for sportsmanship sake, hit the open court away from your opponent if you can… you will have more winners….

Emily the Scientist answered
Having played competition tennis I know a little bit about the frustrations of the game. However, sportsmanship is crucial. If you want to be remembered for all the right reasons, play with the kind of class that is harder and harder to come by these days and, by so doing, stand out from the rest. Hitting your opponent doesn’t demonstrate class.

elfman624 answered
It’s not a problem at all, in fact it’s actually good to hit your opponent due to the rule that says if you get hit with the ball it is your opponents point (it’s not theirs if it bounces then it hits you). You will actually see pros move out of the way when a ball is is speeding towards them, but going to bounce out.

woahimflabbergasted answered
Ethically, no, it’s not okay. But by the rules, yes, it is. In my opinion, the best thing to do if you have a ball and a decision like that is to aim at their feet. Also, if you’re playing doubles and you’re up at the net, aim at the net player’s feet, as they’re closer and will have a slower reaction time.

Liz W answered
I have a friend that played in high school and she once told me that her trainer said you were SUPPOSED to intentionally try to hit the opponent with the ball…I guess it makes sense because they can’t return it if it smacks them in the forehead ๐Ÿ˜›

GSTOKES answered
Its allowed in tennis but obviously it’s very unsporting and not very clever! I guess Gonzalez might try it against Rafa today!

RAFAnatic answered
Yes, definitely.

hardworkaces answered
It’s showing bad sportsmanship and lack of respect, but yes, its perfectly fine. ๐Ÿ˜€

terminator answered
Yes as long as you appear to be apologetic afterwards and say …. Sorry.

anil d answered
yes i can perfectly